The number of tickets available only reflects our allocation and not the total tickets remaining for the event.
We do not post out tickets. See faqs for more info.


FARNHAM: Maltings

SAT 17TH JAN, 2015 7.45 pm

Guest Conductor : Ben Palmer

Soloist: Shannon Wagstaff (Clarinet)

Rossini : Overture: 'The Barber of Seville'
Wolf : Italian Serenade
Mozart : Clarinet Concerto, K622
Delius : Intermezzo 'Fenimore and Gerda'
Mendelssohn : Symphony No 4 in A maj 'Italian', Op.90

Our first concert of 2015 embodies more than a hint of the Mediterranean to melt away the winter blues. Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 4 was inspired by the colour and atmosphere of Italy, which was experienced by the composer during a European tour between 1829 and 1831. Writing from Rome to his sister, Fanny, he said, "It will be the jolliest piece I have ever done, especially the last movement." The Italian theme is continued with Hugo Wolf's 'Italian Serenade', which features our Principal Viola, Philip Thorne, and a much-loved overture by Italian composer, Gioachino Rossini. The ever popular Mozart Clarinet Concerto also provides the opportunity to show off the skills of our own Principal Clarinet, Shannon Wagstaff.

£12.00 + £1.20 Booking fee = £13.20

40 tickets available

All ages
£6.00 + £0.60 Booking fee = £6.60

25 tickets available

All ages